Jeffery Beam | Midwinter Fires

Midwinter Fires. Number Six in the Seven Kitchens Press ReBound Series. Originally published by French Broad Press in 1990; re-released in a fresh, new edition.

Published: December 27, 2011 [125 copies]
14 pages
ISBN-13: 978-0-9839292-2-2

Jeffery Beam is the author of over twenty works of poetry & musical collaboration, including Gospel Earth, The Beautiful Tendons, What We Have Lost, Visions of Dame Kind, Life of the Bee (with Lee Hoiby), An Elizabethan Bestiary: Retold, The Fountain, & The Lord of Orchards: Jonathan Williams at 80 (with Richard Owens). A limited edition MountSeaEden is due this spring from Chester Creek Press, & a new collection, The Broken Flower is forthcoming from Skysill Press. Beam is also a botanical librarian at UNC-Chapel Hill and poetry editor of Oyster Boy Review. He resides in Hillsborough, NC. 


Let’s make a fire
to cure poison 
We’ll smolder a log 
shoulder sorrows away
in brass buckets
                                              of ash 
                  Luck will be ours
                  The singing flint within us
Embers glowing

  • Order Midwinter Fires here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s