Tag Archives: Catherine Staples

Kudos to our poets

Our hats are off to 7KP poet Christina Hutchins, whose full-length collection, The Stranger Dissolves, is a finalist for the Publishing Triangle’s Audre Lorde Award. Good luck, Christina!

And congrats to Catherine Staples, whose gorgeous chapbook, Never a Note Forfeit, has just gone into its fourth printing!

Author news

Please join us in congratulating our authors on the forthcoming publication of their first full-length collections:

Catherine Staples’ collection, The Rattling Window, will be published by Ashland Poetry Press. Catherine is the author of Never a Note Forfeit, co-winner of the 2010 Keystone Chapbook Prize. In other news, Catherine’s poem “Red Rover” won the Guy Owen Prize from the Southern Poetry Review.

Matthew Hittinger’s collection, Skin Shift, will be published in June 2012 by Sibling Rivalry Press. Matthew is the author of Platos de Sal, #2 in our Editor’s Series.

We also have word that Steven Riel’s first full-length collection has found a publisher–more word on that as soon as we hear. Steven is the author of Postcard from P-town, #2 in our Robin Becker Chapbook Series.

And please check out a new blog from Steve Turtell, Adventures of a Working Stiff: 50 Jobs in 50 Years: fascinating narratives about some of the many jobs Steve has held. Steve is the author of Letter to Frank O’Hara, #3 in our ReBound Series.

Catherine Staples chapbook forthcoming: preorder now!

Never a Note Forfeit. Number 8 in the Keystone Chapbook Series and co-winner of the 2010 Keystone Chapbook Prize, selected by guest judge Betsy Sholl, this chapbook is scheduled for publication on July 1. Pre-orders are welcome–please click here.

New links

We’ve updated the “In production” tab to include new pages for Leonard Kress & Catherine Staples, whose Keystone Prize-winning chapbooks will come out in April & May. You can read a sample poem on each writer’s page. Stay tuned for the 2011 Summer Kitchen Series announcement–we’re just about to post these as well.

Keystone Chapbook Prize co-winners selected

The results are in: this year’s guest judge, Betsy Sholl, has selected “Never a Note Forfeit,” by Catherine Staples, as the winning manuscript among writers with no previous chapbook publication for this year’s Keystone Prize. The runner-up manuscript was Jillian Barnett’s “You Don’t Need a Nose (and Other Things I’ve Learned).”

From the manuscripts by writers with previous chapbook or book publication, Betsy has selected “Braid & Other Sestinas” by Leonard Kress. The runner-up manuscript was “Appalachian Venus” by Melody Davis.

Leonard’s chapbook will be published in April 2011, and Catherine’s will be published in May 2011.

We want to thank everyone who submitted work, shared the word, and helped to make this the most successful year ever for the Keystone Series. With your support, Seven Kitchens continues to grow and uphold our commitment to publish strong, original poetry in handmade editions that our authors can be proud of. Special thanks to Betsy Sholl for serving as this year’s judge.

Next year’s Keystone Series has a new reading period: July 1 to August 15, 2011. Please mark your calendars!